Poets logo

What Colours Can Babies See?

Shapes and true colours

By Graeme WaddellPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2
A fifty shades thing!

I’m new to the world,

I am me,

I’ve been growing for nine months

And now I’m free.

~

I opened my eyes,

For the very first time,

Shades of grey,

Is what I see.

~

You smile at me,

That beaming grin.

And I try one too,

That’s just the thing.

~

Hello Mum,

Did I pass the test?

I am me,

I need to rest.

~

Although just a shape,

I can see your face,

I need a name,

Just in case.

~

One month new,

I recognise you.

You look at me,

And I smile with you.

~

You’re no longer just grey,

You know, that fifty shades thing,

And wow! How you’re looking so thin,

Hues of colour start within,

~

Hold me close,

I’m not quite there yet,

Shades of greys,

Start to become colour,

~

Two months new,

I see you better,

Colours are,

But a few.

~

I love the way,

You dress me each day,

After the warm baths,

You let me kick my feet.

~

Bright colours are new,

And start to shine,

Hold me high,

For a better view.

~

Three months in,

I see more colour,

Where do I begin,

They are no longer duller.

~

I grab your hair,

That is light brown

I touch your lovely,

Soft olive skin.

~

Shapes are now,

coming into focus

I watch our red dog,

His name is Hocus.

~

Four months now,

No nightlight for me,

I’m bigger now,

I don’t need one you see.

~

I’m doing well,

Some colours are new,

I love you, mum,

You love me too.

~

I love the colours,

Of my walls,

The two-tone pattern,

Pastel Pink And Blue.

~

Five months begin,

A new journey for me,

I see all the colours,

The world within.

~

Seeing new things,

As I crawl around,

I know I make you,

Very proud.

~

I see you eat,

I try to copy you,

One more month,

I can start on solids too.

~

Thank you, Mum,

For being you,

You care for me,

I see the smiles on your face.

~

I love the name,

You gave to me,

I’ll always embrace,

Such a pretty name.

~

You named me Grace.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Graeme Waddell

Graeme Waddell is an aspiring writer, actor, video editor, graphic designer, scriptwriter, and will be soon making his first short movie.

He has helped many on their journey of discovery with many facets of internet technology. Reach out.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.