Poets logo

What colour am I?

My entry for the True Colours Challenge

By Mika ExleyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I ask myself all the time, “What colour am I?”

And “What colour do I seem?”

Because within, the only colour that comes to me is a dark, deep blue.

Like when the night sky is almost there, but it isn’t black, it’s blue.

A dark, deep blue.

I think about it a lot, like how I’m stuck in that state,

Not a beautiful mystical black night sky who knows who he is,

Or a pink sunset, innocent and bright eyed,

not even a light blue sky, who’s awake and wise,

But a dark, deep blue, Stuck.

For that, I am unlike the sky,

the sky changes all the time,

But I seem so deeply frozen, In this void-like blue...

I wish I was pink, because the question “What colour do I seem?”

It’s Pink. The bright innocence, the cutesy goodnights of that beautiful sunset pink...

Like how I dress so colourful, and give everyone a beaming smile.

I tell everyone “it will be ok,” like pink does,

But the real blue inside of me doesn’t believe himself...

Am I faking a colour?

Everyone says I’m pink, my nickname as a child,

My favorite colour, The colour of my blanket I couldn’t sleep without,

And for a while, I was pink.

My childhood years were a bright and beaming pink,

And maybe, for that, I am like the sky,

Changing.

One day I may be the mystical black night sky colour,

Who’s learnt to love who I am,

And maybe someday, I’ll be the cheery orange of a sunrise,

Welcoming on, the new me, the wise blue sky.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Mika Exley

Just a small girl who feels she’s against the world ❤️

Instagram: cinnamonroll_mika

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.