Poets logo

What are you doing

Helping Others

By Ryan ShusterPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
What are you doing
Photo by Anna Earl on Unsplash

I don't think any of you fully comprehend the situation

Looking down on others before you fully know what they're facing

Their song hasn't started playing your already changing the station

Never even take the time to hear them just sit and be patient

Everyone who walks in my life has had a story, one that you all missed

They've asked others for help but were quickly dismissed

So they knock on my door where understanding exist

The don't come demanding not one of them insist

Only through love and compassion can you show them humanity exists

Don't forget all of our lives are full of turns and twists

I've been down the road of struggle and complexities

So I will never turn my back on anybody who sits next to me

I will take the hand of anybody during a time of need

Somebody has to, in a world full of greed

It sucks to be an outcast, if only you knew how they feel

Some are just looking for nothing more than a home and a meal

But you're more worried about their past and what they might steal

Forget your materialistic items none of that is meaningful or real

If that's what matters most in your life, then you are far from living

Life's not about what you have, it's about sharing and giving

It's about helping others reach greatness no matter the cost

It's about guiding the blind and finding the lost

So you can go on and keep telling me, I'm doing too much

and everyday I'll remind you're wrong, you're just not doing enough.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.