Poets logo

what all do you need to feel at peace?

Because I've learned what makes me at peace, cozy and comfortable. And for the price of silence, I'll share with you what gives me comfort.

By Jay,when I writePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
what all do you need to feel at peace?
Photo by Cristofer Maximilian on Unsplash

Never taught to value

a silent night

a moment of peace

not needing a deep exhale

Never taught to not rip and run and run and rip and trip around doing any and everything for any and everyone

Till,

I got alone. Looked in the small mirror above the yellowing sink in a room that was used by probably tens, no hundreds, maybe even a thousand different people

don't think about that mattress

put that blue ready to mold sponge on top

it's all quiet.

no siblings.

no mom.

no school activities keeping me at

just me, and my long list of movies I've been meaning to get to

so get to 'em

comfort to me is what?

watching a movie?

youtube,

netflix,

hulu,

anywhere...

but that's not quite it, no.

No. comfort to me is...

do you hear that?

no?

listen closely?

still nothing?

exactly.

who's there?

no one

nothing

just me.

teaching myself to value

a silent night

a moment of peace

not needing a deep exhale

just my existence.

how toinspirationallove poems
Like

About the Creator

Jay,when I write

Hello.

What?

23, Black, queer, yup

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.