Poets logo

What a weird day

A poem about the time I may or may not have met Kerouac and Cassidy

By Ruben De EscapadoPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

What a weird day

I met Kerouac once.

He was wearing a white and pink

Short-sleeved button-down.

I met Neal Cassidy once.

He stood with him- -

that fateful day.

He wore navy blue.

Before that...

A woman was dealing—

Dealing bad.

She needed a piece

Of my spirit.

and

I gave it away.

Told myself I had it to spare.

I always forget how deep my grave

Of grievance and despair.

Dragging the feet belonging

To a vacuum of a man

Dampening his revving rapture to relieve.

A stranger's hand in mind.

I had stepped into

An altered reality.

Not actually, but maybe.

I cut through a brick tunnel

something different on the other side.

Lugging my craft

In the heat of summertime.

There is a young boy and girl dancing

To the song

Of a musician trying to make it.

Don't bother asking,

yes, I am addicted.

But there they were.

Jack and Neal.

In plain sight before me.

Walking towards them.

Jack looked at me.

I said, “Are you...”

And Neal grinned.

A truly sinister grin,

one that was electric with truth.

He was restraining

holding tightly the reins of his heart.

Words will always dampen

a moment of proof.

Jack chuckled out the side of his mouth.

“Would you like a beer kid?”

I looked down, and they were splitting a pack.

I grabbed it

Shook their hands.

“Are you…”

“Thank you.”

The only words I said to them.

That fateful day.

I have to stop writing this poem everytime.

I just stare out my apartment window.

Watch branches sway.

Listen to Jazz.

Presumably listening to jazz.

If you can listen to such a thing.

It's just sort of there

and you're with it.

The essence of the saxophone's swing.

“Would you like a beer, kid?”

I crossed the street-

And watched them walk away- -

Laughing and hugging- -

The back of their heads

More and more distant.

Until I take the corner- -

Until.

A n inferno behind the eyes

of red bricks once passed by.

I am alive again.

There is a sweaty beer

In my grip.

I think nobody

Will believe

My brief trip to the underworld,

nor do I care.

I have this beer.

This cold and sweaty beer.

In ones that wrote books--

books that set my heart on fire.

Now, in my shakey ones

the ones who try to create and aspire.

I tuck it in my bag

Later in my fridge.

Where it sits.

Waiting for the day

I publish my first book.

Or I have a kid.

Or the world is ending.

Or when it is saved.

Whichever moment is

bliss with jazz

I believe I will just know when, and

I will crack the beer's cymbal,

And I’ll have a toast

With my dead friends.

I took out a pen and paper

tried to write this poem that day

but all I could come up with was this:

Oh, moon river

Please give me a kiss.

Oh, sunny day

Hold me tight.

What a weird day.

artcelebritiesfact or fictionsurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ruben De Escapado

Most know me as a poet sitting on a park bench in Central Park. Writing poetry for strangers. Before that I lived a life and learned a few things. Now I listen to what the world had to teach others. Believe in yourself and be honest. Okay.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.