Poets logo

Welcome To The Planet

Sorry It Sucks

By paint and penPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
3
Welcome To The Planet
Photo by Dylan Sauerwein on Unsplash

Hey! Welcome to my planet,

Won't you please sit down...

I have so much to tell you,

Let's take a look around.

Photo property of author

The first thing you have to see,

Is my very favourite place,

I can't wait for you to see it,

I can't wait to see your face!

Photo property of the author

This here is the ocean,

We also call it the sea,

The very best place in the world,

The greatest place to be!

Photo property of the auth

Take off the space boots, stay a while,

Feel the warm, soft sand between your toes,

The hint of salt, so fresh and clean,

That flows right through your nose.

photo property of the author

No don't drink that water!

It's just not fit to drink,

The salt's not for consumption,

This is just a place to think.

photo property of author

This is where I find myself,

When the world just gets too sad,

Poverty, hunger, homelessness,

It's getting really bad.

By Nick Fewings on Unsplash

People scraping to get by,

Wars between adjacent lands,

Tiny babies stand on line for food,

On the edge of suburban sands.

By Max Böhme on Unsplash

I showed you my very favorite place,

Hoping for some answers from outer space,

Please tell me what I can possibly do,

Or maybe I can go home with you.

social commentaryslam poetry
3

About the Creator

paint and pen

Artist, writer, going through life marching to the beat of my own drum.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Lynda Spargur8 months ago

    Another amazing piece. The ocean is one of my favorite places too. Great job!

  • Misty Rae8 months ago

    Nice.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.