Poets logo

Welcome to My Mind

Just something.

By Paul StewartPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
12
Welcome to My Mind
Photo by Edward Howell on Unsplash

Just open the door...

-*-

Welcome to my mind

Make yourself at home

Please ignore the screaming

or that troll in the corner

My patience is around here somewhere

Though I can't quite remember where

I'm sure there is a handbook

Collecting dust in the dark over there

*

Welcome to my mind

You really are quite safe

Avoid the dark spots

the Memory drops

And that space over there

There's plenty to see

There's plenty to do

Don't worry about the noise

*

Welcome to my mind

Where ideas are created

Then deconstructed

Rearranged and put together

In a different order

Welcome to my mind

Where the mistakes are valley deep

And anxieties are mountain high

*

Welcome to my mind

Please stay a little while

There's plenty to entertain you

It's lively and it's fun

Just watch out

For the trap doors and the bats

Welcome to my mind

There's room for everyone.

*

Welcome to my mind

Mostly Interesting Never Dull

Welcome to my mind

Mysterious Intriguing Nostalgic Delirious

Welcome to my mind

I hope you stay a while

Welcome to my mind

Please make yourself at home.

*

Thanks for reading

Author's Notes: Just something I had kicking around, thought I may as well put it up here. Including pesky acrostics!

Here are a few other things:

You can also check out the rest of my work here.

humorsurreal poetryperformance poetryinspirationalfact or fiction
12

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    What a beautiful piece, and a lovely tribute to your creative brain! Very well done, Paul! Many layers in this one (not just the cortical kind;)) 💞💫

  • Your mind is my playground! It sounds so fun! Also, I love that you did mini acrostics of MIND!

  • ARC8 months ago

    I really enjoyed this one, Paul. Your voice is so clear. Wild to me I've never (audibly) heard you speak. Familiar like a long-time friend. Beautiful work 💙

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    I love this.

  • Thank you for inviting us into your mind, Paul, & giving us the whirlwind tour. (Is this place spinning or am I just getting dizzy?) Delightfully fun.

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    Like that welcoming combination of the ominous and the delightful, open to yourself in the highs and lows. Do cats eat bats, or do bats eat cats? Ciao!

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    I hope you have Netflix up in there! Seriously though, great poem. It had an eeriness to it not knowing what you would encounter in the depths of another’s mind. Loved it!

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Ahhh. Get me out of here. Help. HELP! 😅 Just something “kicking around”..? This was brilliant, very funny but laden with all kinds of meanings! Also, did you mean lively instead of likely (fourth stanza)..I’m not sure..☺️

  • Suze Kay8 months ago

    Everything I read from your mind has made its way into mine, too! Thanks for sharing the doorway with us.

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    Your mind seems like a nice place to be! Thank you for the invite 😁

  • Article Pins8 months ago

    Nice..🎉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.