Poets logo

Webbing My Way To Read

Books last forever in our hearts.

By Cathy DeslippePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
My First Book,Alone I Read At Six

At a very young age I urned to read.

When one read lines to me, I memorized and played the lead.

When I started school, I would carry a book in my pack.

Words I read, but reading a sentence I did lack.

I would climb up at the table to look at the news.

I even scanned over the television guide ,when my parents snooze.

Word scraper was a game you found words in.

I can still remember how excited I was when I found the word, rolling pin.

A printing book was sent home with me.

I remember printing,saying the words remarkably.

The excitement came on my Birthday when my mom bought me a book.

It was “Charlotte’s Web, hiding in my bedroom I couldn’t wait to take a look.

I read the book so many times.

It was like my mom reading me nursery rhymes.

The web in the story made me think of being safe.

Like your clothes when you travel in a suitcase.

The Author E.B.White wrote the story like it was real.

A talking pig, a true friend to add to the appeal.

Only six years old, a chapter book I could read.

By grade two, reading was exciting but there was more that I did need.

So I took up writing poetry , of a various style.

“There Was An Owl” won awards,published and made me smile.

It became a book, an author so young. I was as proud as could be.

Signing autographs, felt like I made history.

Charlotte’s web is still my favourite book even at my age.

The meaning to me meant, how it was exciting to turn the page.

Of how a book become so real at that age.

I visualized the story page after page, one by one.

It was better than computer games,it was real fun.

When you think about what gift to get your child.

Think of a book you kept, you loved and filed.

The memories of your past.

Are gifts of the future that will always last.

Webbing my way through reading with Charlotte at my bedside.

It’s been a wonderful journey, I’ve enjoyed her on my ride.

Now I write, poetry, gift cards and books too.

My goal in life is leaving legacies with everything I do.

From myself, my daughter and granddaughter to.

Charlotte’s Web has made its journey from each of us to you.

If you had a favourite book you read when you were young.

Keep it for the years to read, have yourself some fun.

Reading is a gift that not all can do.

Please promise me, read to those who may struggle, you can try to teach them to.

Also there are books on tape.

For visually impaired, these stories are great.

Well off to read another story I just got.

Webbing my way ,reading a book, in my favourite spot.

My favourite way to relax, is write or read. Come along and join me. Share your favourite stories, I can’t wait to hear what your genre might be. Xo

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.