Poets logo

Weathering the Storm

And Seeking the Calm Within

By Kelly RobertsonPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
9
Created with Canva

Dear Patience,

It seems we've grown apart,

though, in truth, I can't recall

A time that I truly felt you at all.

Always distant, out of reach

though it's expected of me to teach

the art of finding calm

while weathering the storm

of emotions, growing strong

while my frustration builds

like a beast that seeks

to always eat

and devour my sanity,

my control.

I call your name

while children scream,

tugging, pulling, pleading

"just one more, mama!"

While the dogs keep humping

and the cats keep jumping

on that one exposed nerve

you only ever barely covered

all those years ago.

Can I find you again?

Can I bring you back

to fight my demons

and find the tranquil

person I always hoped I'd be?

I'll await your reply,

though I know deep down

that perhaps it isn't meant to be,

but maybe,

just maybe

you'll come and find me.

Sincerely,

Me

social commentarysad poetry
9

About the Creator

Kelly Robertson

Wrangler of chaos. Creator of more. Writing whatever my heart desires, from fantasy to poetry and more!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Amelia Moore11 months ago

    i love the lines "like a beast that seeks/ to always eat/and devour my sanity," that was my favorite part. i love that you've written this poem to a feeling of Patience-- a really cool idea! i didn't end up submitting to this contest, ha. my plan had been to write to "dear god" but couldn't come up with anything. anyway. this is super beautiful and relatable.

  • This was outstanding and so relatable I felt like I was right there with the pets and kids. Great work

  • Brenton F11 months ago

    "While the dogs keep humping and the cats keep jumping" What a delightful ride!

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    Ooooof yes! So relatable 😭 I find wearing headphones sometimes to cut down on the extreme loudness of my kids helps me be so much more patient 😬🤷🏼‍♀️.

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Beautifully expressed, and relatable. Very well done.

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    Very relatable! I connected with a lot of lines in this. I felt like when you said: I call your name while children scream, tugging, pulling, pleading "just one more, mama!" It brought so much of it to life, I felt like I was in that moment with you. Well done! :)

  • This was very emotional and relatable. I'm a very impatient person and have anger issues. I'm really struggling to deal with that and to work on finding patience. I hope you succeed!

  • Roy Stevens11 months ago

    That sounds like a rough day. Maybe "Sea Met Sky" is the antidote? At least I recommend reading it! Minor editorial item: "Should, I can't recall I time that I truly felt you at all" have 'a' instead of 'I' before 'time'? Just wondering.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.