Poets logo

Wearing a Fake Smile

depression poem.

By AstraldreamerPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

i used to wear a fake smile for everyone to see

not many knew or noticed the pain I hid inside me.

it was as easy to apply as the most perfect foundation.

masking over my sad face like a brand new creation.

I took my mask off to try being me

as a result of spending some months in therapy.

nothing had changed the pain was still there

and now I can't find my mask anywhere.

I've searched everywhere again and again

but all I can find is hatred and pain.

im not a nice person although I do try to be

im always sad and wishing to be free.

i look up at the moon and stars so high

I don't wanna sleep at night, I just wanna fly.

to say goodbye to it all and fly away

I don't wanna hurt anymore

not for one more day.

i want to love and be loved in return

make a fire of all my bad memories and watch them fucking burn.

I want to be able to wear my real smile around everyone not just a few.

i want to lose weight and eat healthier too.

i just don't want to be a failure anymore

I know there's more in this life for me

I'm so so sure.

so I just need to find my perfect fake smile

wear it for just a little while.

so step by step I can build myself up

yet still be able to cope each time I fuck up.

do things I enjoy and find piece in my heart

cuz there's no fun at all in falling apart.

i must admit, right now I do NOT want to stay

but please believe I'm trying in every way.

so please pray for me and send me a virtual hug.

ask the angels to heal me from up above.

please bear with me as I go through this time

pls hold my hand and stand by my side.

I do not want to be alone

that's when my pain makes itself at home.

so text me, call me or knock on my door

help me keep my mind occupied so I can keep the pain out more.

one day soon I will emerge stronger, you will see

but in the meantime please don't forget about me.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Astraldreamer

im a 43 year old single mum of two autistic adult children.

i love angels, crystals, candles, law of attraction, dreams and the paranormal.

I love being near deep blue sea.

I love animals and currently have 4 cats, 2 dogs and 2 rabbits.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.