Poets logo

Weak and Pretty

A poem by Bree Mays

By O. Bree MaysPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I wish I could be weak

I’ve never been weak a day in my life

I wish I could fall to the floor in a heap of madness

And whine and wail

And hurl my problems at the walls

Instead of grappling with them

No I take it back

Forget weak, I want to be pretty

I’ve never been pretty a day in my life

Maybe they are the same thing

I’m nervous they are the same thing

You made them the same thing

I have been strong

I have been prowess

I have been desire

I have been

Everything in the world except weak and pretty

It’s my turn

To have men caress instead of grab

Tender instead of taking

I want to be so weak and so pretty they fear looking at me lest I break

I am the fair china their despised wife will never let them touch

It’s my turn, to be weak and pretty

When will you make it my turn

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.