Poets logo

We Had Two Visitors Yesterday

Both ministers. We had breakfast and played cards before they left today.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
6
We Had Two Visitors Yesterday
Photo by Diana Polekhina on Unsplash

My sister-in-law is a minister

My husband always calls her a monkey

My concern is that may be sinister

~

We had some company, two visitors

It was fun playing cards with the monkeys

My sister-in-law is a minister

~

Her husband was here, so two ministers

Cards 'Up and Down the River' was funky

My concern is that may be sinister

~

She talked about a song, a mimicker

They had her swear as the song was hinky

My sister-in-law is a minister

~

They were older and should have known better

Both were punished and lost all their spunky

My concern is that may be sinister

~

After, they would have a babysitter

No more singing with the little punky

My sister-in-law is a minister

My concern is that may be sinister.

~~~~

P.S. Everyone I know calls my husband a monkey because he calls everyone a monkey first. His several years younger sister has heard it her entire life and she can give it back as well!

Her two older brothers were in trouble as they taught her a song that they changed the words to swear words. The brothers were punished even though she was the singer. She thought that was hilarious and other past memories she shared.

performance poetryVillanellehumorFor FunFamily
6

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Test5 months ago

    Denise your poem offers a glimpse into the playful and interconnected relationships within your family,❤️

  • Mariann Carroll5 months ago

    Excellent performance poetry in villanelle form 👏🏽❤️💗

  • Hahahahahahahhahha they thought her the song replacing it with swear words! That's soooo hilarious! Loved your Villanelle!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.