Poets logo

We Exist

I remember when I was eighteen and looking forward to the weekend.

By NeishPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

I remember when I was eighteen and looking forward to the weekend,

Not a club or a bar,

But your arms are what I waited to be in,

I was so young I couldn’t see where this had the potential of leadin’,

You’d roll over and pull me closer if I said I was leavin’,

Gave me the sweetest kisses on my forehead

And for hours we’d just lay in your bed,

At complete peace with my head on your chest.

Those times are the ones that I miss,

But when I think about love, in return I'm thankful that you exist.

I was never stupid,

There were times when I know I shouldn’t have stayed,

All the games that I allowed you to play,

Ignored the signs of other women even when they were presented to my face,

The times you had me wait,

I let you have your space,

And while I was I away

I stayed to myself and kept the faith,

I knew it wasn’t over because I prayed for our better days.

I never gave up on you easily like you feel others did,

When I said "I got you" I hope you understood the depth I meant,

And when you think about love, in return

I hope you're thankful I exist.

For some reason

We’ve managed to survive every season,

I always think about how,

Then my thoughts move to years later

Where we’ll be better than we are right now,

When we’re both equally ready,

Financially steady,

When our biggest fight is who will change our son’s diaper when it’s really messy.

When in your wallet there's our family photo

And you smile because it’s the second purest form of love you know,

When we’re so happy we absorb all the bliss,

To when I never have to wonder when you leave if it’s our last kiss,

Because the ring on my hand was your vow that you want forever in this,

And when you think about love, in return I hope you're thankful that our family exists.

When we get to that stage

And we reach old age,

When our smiles have wrinkled

When our hairs have all greyed,

When our grand-kids visit on every holiday,

I know I’ll still feel warm when you say my name,

I hope we still see our life as blessed together,

Because the sun shined down on us through our worst weather,

But in death when we tangibly part,

I hope the one who lives longer is the one who embodies the stronger heart,

That the survivor looks to heaven and doesn’t cry to the stars.

When your weekends

And you’re wishing for our weekends

To somehow be relived,

I want the love we shared to outweigh the ghost you miss

And in your desperate times of loneliness

I hope you think of love, in return you're thankful that the memory of us never ceased to exist.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Neish

Hi! I’m Aneisha. I'm the author of the blog--We'll Talk About It! It releases every Tuesday. You can also find some short stories and poems I used to write, while you're waiting for the next blog post. <3

Instagram: @aneishabrackens

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.