Poets logo

We are Saguaro

~ Last of the Yaquis

By Paris RosemontPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
5
We are Saguaro
Photo by Frankie Lopez on Unsplash

I was born to be alone

Madre told me so

We are Saguaro, mija

We are tough—don’t need nobody

[She wants to keep me to herself]

Madre is right

I drink in my hairy arms

Who could love me like this?

Prickly right through to my pulp

It appears I wish to be left alone

Everyone keeps their distance

Just because I can survive in the Sonoran Desert

Doesn’t mean I enjoy the drought

I have a secret

I am harbouring a lover

A rosy-cheeked Gila Woodpecker finds his way under my skin

Perhaps love can nest within me yet

.

.

.

(Note: This is an Inverse poem. The nuance subtly shifts depending on whether it is read from top to bottom or bottom to top)

surreal poetrysad poetrynature poetrylove poemsheartbreak
5

About the Creator

Paris Rosemont

Asian-Australian performance poet. My debut poetry collection 'Banana Girl' (published by WestWords) is out now!

You may find me at www.parisrosemont.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/parisrosemont

Instagram: @msparisrose

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • A. Lenae3 months ago

    Oh, ouch - such mind-altering varying emotions that come from the order one reads this. The romantic in me sure loves the top-to-bottom experience, but the sadness and creeping resignation is too powerful to ignore in the bottom-to-top ride. Your descriptions are really meaty and filling too (I'm a vegetarian so I don't know why I used this wording, by the way). I love "prickly right through to my pulp." SO good!!

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Oh I liked it down so much. Up, too, but then I read it down again to finish where I wanted it to finish.

  • D.K. Shepard3 months ago

    Very vivid and so lyrical! A captivating voice from beginning to end!

  • This was very profound. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.