Poets logo

We Are Kin With The Moon

Celestial Consanguinity

By Bonnie BowermanPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
7
We Are Kin With The Moon
Photo by Mike Petrucci on Unsplash

I am sure of it

We are all magically attached

Connected, spinning along together in the way that family does

In my childhood bedroom, it would steal through the window

And drape me in a shining coverlet, lovingly, tucking me in, like so many other children, around the globe

I would snuggle down – under the moonbeams, smiling, as I drifted off to sleep

Now, no longer a child, it is the first thing, I look for in the night sky

Shining, majestic and proud – it makes my heart swell

With the perfect rightness, of the beauty of its silver light

On sad, cloudy nights, when there is only dark – I still stare in its direction

Looking to my heart’s eye to enjoy its full splendor, for it resides in me

Just, as we all keep our loved ones, deep within

We simply need to think of them, and there they are, smiling back at us

See the moon with every eye you have

Feel the deep, family affection in the soft glow that strokes your hair, your face – and gently traces storgic shadows, upon your smiling lips

nature poetrylove poemsFree VerseFamily
7

About the Creator

Bonnie Bowerman

Just a curious soul with a crayon, at the beginning of my writing journey. There were many absorbing detours along the way.

I am so happy, I stumbled upon this community. The depth of talent here, takes my breath away!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Silver Serpent Books2 months ago

    I absolutely loved this and the call to action at the end to "See the moon with every eye you have". What a cool visual!

  • This was absolutely wonderful! Loved your poem!

  • John Cox2 months ago

    I’m with DK, And drape me in a shining coverlet is a delicious line. Lovely, lovely poetry. Well done!

  • D.K. Shepard2 months ago

    Beautiful! A lot of transfixing imagery throughout! Loved “And drape me in a shining coverlet”

  • Gabriel Huizenga2 months ago

    This is so profoundly beautiful- I love watching and reflecting on the moon too! It does really feel like a friend in the sky :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.