Poets logo

We Are Just Footprints in the Sand & the Tide is Coming In

Doctor Who, Season 4, Episode 8 (2008).

By Rosie J. SargentPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
3
Vladislav Likhomanov On Pexels

How much time do we have left?

Us footprints in the sand.

We knew the tide was coming in

Yet we chose to stand completely still:

While the grass beside us is burning

And smog invades our lungs having met no quarrel.

Plastic plagues each rung of the food chain

Which is paid for with money soaked in oil and blood!

And what’s worse…

We don’t even know what we are looking at is real,

Or what truth maybe poison designed to blind us in hate

Dividing us so that we must fend for ourselves

When that tide eventually comes in.

____________________________

Thank you for taking the time to read my work. It means a lot.

Don’t forget to leave some love and subscribe.

(I try my best to comment back as I can, I have a toddler (help)).

As always;

Stay safe, stay hopeful and stay blessed 💙

social commentarynature poetry
3

About the Creator

Rosie J. Sargent

Hello, my lovelies! Welcome, I write everything from the very strange to the wonderful; daring and most certainly different. I am an avid coffee drinker and truth advocate.

Follow me on Twitter/X @rosiejsargent97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    Oooo, this was so deep! Loved your review!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.