Poets logo

We Are Home

When long-distance ends

By Kelsey ClareyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
4

I didn't know what to expect

When there were no longer screens

and distance between us.

When I could finally touch you,

finally kiss you,

finally lose myself in you.

I was afraid that we could

never live up to all of our

dreams and glorious expectations.

Afraid that we would be disappointed

and all we worked for these many years

would end before it even truly began.

But then I saw you.

And our eyes met,

and your arms went around me,

and I knew that we were home.

And nothing else could ever feel as right as this.

love poems
4

About the Creator

Kelsey Clarey

She/Her/Fae/Faer. I live in Nova Scotia, Canada. I mostly write poetry and flash fiction currently, a lot of it fantasy/folklore/fairy tale inspired. I also like to do a lot of fiber arts and design TTRPGs.

https://linktr.ee/islanderscaper

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer3 months ago

    This was brought the emotion across so well. Beautiful poem

  • Test6 months ago

    this is beautiful. The emotion is beautiful :) well done!

  • Test6 months ago

    Aw so lovely and so glad it worked out!

  • Sarah w2 years ago

    I have never ever had the chance to meet any online friends! I'm glad you had the chance! I could feel the love with your words. 💜

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.