Poets logo

“We”

A poem for the anger that comes with misunderstanding

By Lily WinterPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
“We”
Photo by Deniz Demirci on Unsplash

You told me that we didn’t know what love was

That maybe we were just kids and didn’t know what we got ourselves into

That we tried our best to be in love but it just wasn’t meant to last

First of all,

How fucking dare you say “we” like you’ve ever known what I feel

We fell in love for two months before we even dated

I met your parents

I met your friends

I wanted to know every part of the people you love so I could know you better

And you think

You have the fucking audacity to say “we”

I’m not the one who left

I’m the one who stayed while you were in the hospital

I’m the one who came back every time you pushed me away

because I couldn’t bare to leave you alone

And because I promised your mom I wouldn’t

And yet you think “we” were just kids?

Bull.

You were the first adult thing I ever did with my life

I sat and cried with you

And for you

And because of you

And I got up and made myself be strong

because you couldn’t

And now I’m the one suffering,

Almost a year later,

And you get high with the boys

And put your shenanigans on camera

While I try to put my pieces back together

With someone who shows me

What actual, adult love is

I can’t see you in person or I’ll cry

I can’t read your texts on my phone or I get angry

And yet, I wear your old shirt to do yard work

Because I want to put you through the ringer

And the shirt is the closest thing I have

“We tried our best to be in love”

But for me, I didn’t have to try.

I loved you with everything in me

And I would’ve stayed forever if you let me

You would’ve been my first and my last

And yet you only found me worth it

To bring me back for Valentine’s day

Like I was a guest star on your

demented under budget TV series

“It just wasn’t meant to last”

But yet it couldn’t end in December after the hospital

Or January after my birthday

Or February after Valentine’s day

Or March when I told your mom you were suicidal

Because I can’t reach you from here

Or any of the times you reached out

To check in, or for closure,

Or whatever else you want to call keeping me attached

In case you need me later

Do me a favor:

Next time you want to say “we”

Leave me out of it

Because clearly we experienced this differently

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Lily Winter

Hello! I am an eighteen year old university student, and avid writer. To learn more about me, check out my instagram-

Personal: @lily_winter4722

Business: @lily_winter_writes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.