Poets logo

Waves of Life

Financial stress

By O. MasonPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
The Crashing Waves of life

Have you ever felt like you are so overcome by the stress of everyday life? No matter what you do, you can never get ahead.

I wake up every morning, worrying about our bills. How are we going to pay for the house, the cars, the utilites? It's not fair, we both work hard and try to provide our kids with their needs and wants. My husband works overtime and we still can't make it. It's getting worse everyday. It's not paycheck to paycheck anymore, it's gone as soon as we get it.

What do we do? I'm looking for another job to supplement my income. I can't seem to find anything that will be an actual source of income. I pray to God everyday, every minute asking Him to move this mountain as only He can. He seems to be saying, not right now. So when?! We are drowning in debt and its getting worse by the day. The waves are getting higher. I keep praying and this increases my faith in Him.

Not only are the bills piling up, we have to do repairs on our cars, so that we can get them inspected and use them to go to work. How do you do that when you don't have the funds to get it all fixed up. I am at such a loss. I feel so helpless. I just want to shut down and go to sleep.

I don't know what to do anymore. I go to bed with the same unsettling thoughts and worries. One of my girls understands, but why should she have to? It's our job to take care of them. My other daughter, doesn't fully understand what we are going through. She has Down Syndrome and just doesn't understand.

I'm trying to balance home and work. Looking for a remote job seems virtually, no pun intended, impossible. There are so many get rich quick schemes out there, too many to count. Do I go back and work retail along with my regular teaching job? What happens to my girls?

How do I stop these crashing waves from knocking us down and drowning us completely? God, I ask you for your help and guidance. Protect us from the wild crashing waves.

social commentary

About the Creator

O. Mason

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    OMWritten by O. Mason

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.