Poets logo

Watermelon Socks

Shielding from the chill in their duvet dugout.

By Dani BuckleyPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Edit: by me. Original photo: Today.com.

The bright coloured socks

Enveloped in cotton

Fuchsia geometry

Worries all forgotten

Watermelon socks

Pink and green

Snuggled in the duvet

Mind wiped clean

Pip-less socks

Nuzzling and wrestling

In fresh sheets

My body nestling

Cotton socks

All fruity and bright

Tumble dryer crisp

For a cosy night

These watermelon socks

Are just a small pleasure

But in these times

That’s a hard measure

So, these cotton socks

All juicy and clean

Are quite enough for me

To sleep well and dream

The green and pink socks

Even if in the night I toil

Will sing me to sleep again

Like a worm in soil

The cosy socks

In which my toes wriggle

Etch a smile on my face

Like the curve of a sickle

So thank you, watermelon socks

For your bed-time service

The happiness you’ve brought

Has stopped me feeling nervous

Watermelon socks,

The warm tingle you send,

Up my arched spine

Is just enough to mend

My weary mind

For a time.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Dani Buckley

Pennings of the dark and cinematic. Phantasmagoria abound.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.