Poets logo

Wash Day

by crow

By Elon DurantPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Wash Day
Photo by Jakayla Toney on Unsplash

Steam blurs the myself in my mirror

Maybe if i can’t see the form the static won’t come

Vulnerable I step out of my molt

Overwashed denim and a shirt once white

Already I yearn for the second skin

Shake out my hair and my thoughts

As I sink under the waterfall

With my eyes closed i can pretend

Drown in the white noise of this tiled prison

Lather up scrub away happiness in colored hair strands

Suds infected by cotton candy pink

A die job would last longer

Commitment only in

Skin like sycamore scarred

With words inked in raven shades

Like trees of oak it’s back to brown

Vision already seeking serotonin

in the form of saturation

Vestiges of last month’s cyan call out achingly

Another hue to find myself

Cracks in the whites of bloodshot eyes

Rose seams like stained glass

Betray lies of I’m fine tumbling over coffee stained enamel

Unlike my mind the hot water runs clear

Dissolving me to find

my solution

sad poetry

About the Creator

Elon Durant

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Elon DurantWritten by Elon Durant

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.