Poets logo

Was it me?

searching

By Martyna DearingPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
2
Was it me?
Photo by youssef naddam on Unsplash

Did you die

So I could become a poet?

Did your heart stop

So I’d have stories to tell?

***

Don’t laugh

It’s not funny

I’m just looking for a higher meaning

In a tragedy that should have never happened.

***

What if it’s me?

What if im the reason?

It couldn’t be you

Unless you were just too good

For this world of treason.

***

Have you even ever existed?

I can’t remember

You seem so distant.

I write stories and letters

The words are spilling out of my head like they’re too scared to hold on to it for even a moment

I write and write

Who do I write to?

You? Me? The girl I used to be?

***

I write because I’m scared

I’m petrified

That once I stop

You’ll be gone

Just like that night

When you didn’t come back home.

***

I write to keep you alive on paper

Because I couldn’t do it in real life.

I write so others remember

That I will never stop being your wife.

***

I write to make sure

You’re getting my messages

I pour my soul on paper

So my thoughts don’t push me off the edges.

***

Did you die to make me love you more than I could ever imagine?

If I loved you better, would you still be here?

Our hands touching.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Martyna Dearing

Martyna Dearing joined vocal right after COVID started in April 2020. Since then she got a few Top Stories, republished her book "Green Card Marriage", and is about to release another one titled "Loved, Death, and In Between".

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.