Poets logo

Was it Janice?

Senryu

By Kristen BalyeatPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
15
Was it Janice?
Photo by Tim Gouw on Unsplash

Your name blew through my

ears, untouched by grey matter—

captive of the wind.

humor
15

About the Creator

Kristen Balyeat

Words fly to me on the wind, bump into me as I'm strolling the city, splash me in the face while I rest by the river, and shake me awake in the middle of the night– I’m humbly one of the many vessels they use to come to life.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    FFS. lol. Kristen, I like this side of you hahahaha! Brilliant work, pal!

  • JBaz6 months ago

    Yep, that is me in a nutshell, karreen….Kara..no wait Kristen.

  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    SO relatable. Happens to me alllll the time. I must be a terrible listener...

  • I've always had a tough time with names. At church camp I would work so hard that first day to learn everyone's names. The second day I would realize that I learned them according to what clothes they were wearing.

  • Sooo relatable! Well done! 🩷🙏🤍

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    I love it when people just take a guess! Or call you an alternate version of your name …ugh. Mostly I just politely ask again though.. the problem is that the above scenario of your Senryu happens yet again! 😅

  • Mohammed Darasi7 months ago

    Janice from accounting (sorry this reminds of an ongoing joke in a show called last week tonight 🤣). Yeah I am terrible with names. Love the line untouched by grey matter, that is so clever!

  • I'm okay with name but terrible with faces. Like I'll remember your name but I would have forgotten which one is you 🤣🤣🤣

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Omg. That is so me. I'm terrible with names. Lol. This is great.

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    Haha...Untouched by grey matter... Such a cool line for this. 🤩🥇🍻

  • Ooh😁👍

  • Leslie Writes7 months ago

    Omg - every time!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.