Poets logo

Was it all a lie? Tell me why.

You told me of all the sleepless nights and pain you’d felt for other guys you’d left - who lasted, meant and shared barely a fraction of what we had.

By Patrick HPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Was it all a lie? Tell me why.
Photo by Maria Teneva on Unsplash

Engulfed in love that blossomed, when I looked at you I knew

Nothing else now mattered, with unwavering conviction the belief

There was no one for me, but you

.

I held my breath and waited; until you finally confessed, I was all you’d ever wanted

The bond, the joy, the lust – a mutual obsession – infinite and insatiable

Engulfed in love that blossomed, when I looked at you I knew

.

You confided childhood trauma, I’ve never told a soul

All I wanted was to heal you, help you forget it all

There was no one for me, but you

.

We danced and made magic happen

We also made mistakes; mine trauma-based, coping their only intention

Engulfed in love that blossomed, when I looked at you I knew

.

We found ‘Forever Love’ on a Saturday, the same day that I lost you

Promising never to abandon me, then decapitated all contact, surely not forever

There was no one for me, but you

.

Never thought you capable – of callous, hateful, pain inflicted - void of all remorse

Torn apart as months became years; faded love formed a cold heart, that was once

Engulfed in love that blossomed, when I looked at you I knew

There was no one for me, but you

social commentarysad poetrylove poemsheartbreakart

About the Creator

Patrick H

Thank you, your honor. With God's help I'll conquer this terrible affliction.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Test5 months ago

    This is beautifully written. Well done.

  • "Promising never to abandon me, then decapitated all contact, surely not forever" It's funny how the ones who tell us that they'd never leave are the ones to leave us. Empty words and promises. I'm so sorry if this happened to you. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • k eleanor6 months ago

    This is a beautiful poem! Loved it!

Patrick HWritten by Patrick H

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.