Poets logo

Was I

Always

By Katie Published 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
1
Was I
Photo by Ryan Moulton on Unsplash

Was I always such a fool, played again and again?

Forever manipulated, forever controlled.

Never learning, easily a step or two behind.

Just when, I thought, I’d learned their game, they‘d laughingly skip ahead.

Taunting me with their arrogance. They know, that they have complete confidence in my situation. Controlled and manipulated I have no recourse.

A lifetime of servitude. An existence of continual debt. An existence designed to keep me right where I am. For every dollar I earn, I somehow owe them nearly half.

All this I see and know to be true, I’ve been caught in their snare. There is no escape.

Is there, then, only acceptance?

At what point will the population rise up to fight against what’s been done to us?

I say we won’t.

Not now, not ever. The cow led to slaughter, realizes to late, if at all, it’s impending demise. So too our society.

Blindly, all go about their lives, giving little energy to the continual erosion of our rights, and our livelihoods.

So slow is our March towards totalitarianism that most are somehow welcoming it.

Somehow saying that censorship of free speech is required. That it’s for the greater good.

“ It’s not the way that “we” think, so yes it should be censored”

How easily most are spoon fed shit and told its ice cream.

“More please”

So, yes, I believe it to be, too late.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Katie

Really just an amateur trying my hand at this.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • k eleanor4 months ago

    This hits home!! Well crafted!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.