Poets logo

Warmth

A poem about what gives me comfort

By Victoria MoranPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Warmth
Photo by Matt on Unsplash

That thing we have pursued

since we held each other tight

In the dense and dusky darkness

Of a prehistoric night.

Warmth.

My dear,

It's all I ask you do

When I give you my embrace

you will hold me tightly, too.

That flickering,

sputtering,

fluttering flame

that thing which we all wish to tame

but none can subdue.

The warmth of embrace,

of comfort,

of soon.

The warmth of a chill breeze

on a fall afternoon

These things fill my heart,

give me strength,

heal my soul.

Crimson leaves,

painted trees,

tones of yellow and gold.

The softness of a summer night,

the thunder and the rain.

The comfort of a blanket

removes my fear and pain.

A simple pleasure,

so hard to measure,

a book

a song

a kiss.

These are the things that bring me warmth,

so subtle--

yet impossible to miss.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Victoria Moran

Victoria is a young writer, French Horn player, and aspiring engineer trying to get a start in fiction writing. Her favorite genres to read (and write!) are fantasy fiction, science fiction, and dystopians.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.