Poets logo

Warm Embraces

Home

By Xarli XCosmoPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Warm Embraces
Photo by Anastasia Sklyar on Unsplash

Warm embraces,

"Tell me you love me," Warm, wet breath against my cheek as he repeats me,

answers to my commands,

Hands hanging off of my hips,

He runs his hands through my hair,

My afro has been ostracized, but he affirms my own thoughts of its beauty.

My daughter wears my skin,

Dark brown and glowing from the nature of nurture,

He treats us both like princesses rubbing my feet and then hers.

Normally I hate when another person looks or acts like me,

but she is the spitting image of me as she lets her head fall back in pleasure,

I admire that thing that I hate when she wears it.

It makes me feel complete that she wears it.

Shared drinks and lit cigarellos,

the smoke intermingles between him and me after we put her to bed.

I'm almost unused to the silence in the air that leaves nothing unsaid.

I don't think about the house I grew up in,

I don't even consider that he or she could emulate what I left in the past

and they make me feel secure in that.

"I love you mommy," She says with breath that warms my heart,

"I love you mami," He says, his body heat warming my from behind as we cuddle.

I feel good here.

Even the tiring moments are exceptional and acceptable.

This is what home is and what it means to me.

love poems

About the Creator

Xarli XCosmo

Xarli has been writing since she was 7 years old, creating unique settings and characters in her head to make up for the lack of diversity she encountered in the hood as seen from her window. High imagination and impossible scenarios showup

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    XXWritten by Xarli XCosmo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.