Poets logo

War

..

By Harydo NeonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

The war in the mind is the least talked type of war

Yet it is the war with deeper wounds and larger scars

We know about World wars I and II

We don't know about the war within me and you

The battle to wake up in the morning and be positive

The battle to think about the next meal

The battle to remember your goals and dreams

The battle to actually even believe that this is even real

The battle that tears are just hormonal

And that they don't really describe what pain is

The battle that the sun may never rise again

Or that if it does, you might not see it again

It is hard, it is really hard and I am still fighting mine

I am still fighting to get out of bed

Fighting to even figure out what kinda of day lies ahead

Struggle to stay away from the alcohol and wine

And I swear I am trying to uproot these vices and vines

These thoughts that crawl to the surface of my mind

"You will never be enough or happy"

Maybe they are right, I mean my life does feel a bit tacky

I just want these thoughts to flee form me

Like Jonah, I don't want to go to my Nineveh of hurt

I don't want to get swallowed either, out of fear

Sometimes I feel I am beyond saving, even though I am probably not

I mean , I do have a savior, that cross

I mean, my life could be a lot worse

I am just blind to see the lilies amongst the thorns

And He took them and made the crown, it was worth

So here we are, day is over

Looking in the mirror I feel much better

Probably going to wake up tomorrow and start the battle all over

Battle stations people, your life isn't over

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Harydo Neon

I drain my thoughts through my pen. That's the only way I breathe.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.