Poets logo

Wanting You to be Okay

A dad tries to move forward after a child's suicide attempt

By F Cade SwansonPublished 11 months ago β€’ Updated 11 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
20
Wanting You to be Okay
Photo by Alex Azabache on Unsplash

Dad, while I was sleeping,

I heard you quietly

Say that you worry about me, and

That you want me to be okay.

Rather than try

And convince you not to worry,

Could I ask you to remember

That I am still here.

I survived. And while I may never be fully

Okay, let the life that has returned in my eyes distract you, still

Not forgetting the pain I felt, or the pain I caused.

love poemssad poetryinspirationalheartbreak
20

About the Creator

F Cade Swanson

Queer dad from Virginia now living and writing in the Pacific Northwest. Dad poems, sad poems, stories about life. Read more at fcadeswanson.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Gargie S Anand2 months ago

    "I survived. And while I may never be fully Okay, let the life that has returned in my eyes distract you, still Not forgetting the pain I felt, or the pain I caused." This sums it all. Wow! Beautiful choice of words. Well composed.

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Beautiful and unselfish thoughts! Congrats on TS!πŸ₯³

  • Yusuf Alam2 months ago

    πŸ”₯πŸ”₯πŸ”₯πŸ”₯πŸ‘ŒπŸ‘ŒπŸ‘ŒCade You nailed it! πŸ’ͺ Great job, seriously! πŸ‘Œ https://vocal.media/authors/yusuf-alam

  • JOSIAH NWOKO2 months ago

    very very lovely

  • Christy Munson2 months ago

    I love the tender hand your word choice brings to this first-person narration. You've given your reader enough to feel so many emotions while simultaneously giving your reader enough space to fill in their own blanks. Evocative and emotional. Beautifully written.

  • Aurora2 months ago

    congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    Hugs...

  • Heather Hubler2 months ago

    Oh goodness, this made me tear up. My best friend went through/is still going through this with her daughter. There are so many emotions tied up. Beautiful work highlighting this :)

  • So poignantly seen from both perspectives. "Dad, while I was sleeping, I heard you quietly Say that you worry about me, and That you want me to be okay." Thank you for this beautiful poem.

  • Eiman Asif2 months ago

    A beautiful one to read many times..! Amazing and incredible... Your words are really heart-touching and so deep and true.. loved your poem..

  • JBaz2 months ago

    Yep, this is a keeper, one to reread many times. Touching with a sprinkle of hope.

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    That line "let the life that has returned in my eyes distract you" - hit me. Oh man.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.