Poets logo

Wanting in Winter

Heated Dreams

By ROCK Published 3 months ago 1 min read
19
Wanting in Winter
Photo by EVGEN SLAVIN on Unsplash

Only once did it take to lock my heart forever to yours; our passion abandoned due to a cause neither of us wanted to fight. Blinded by bullets, blizzards, time ticked on. Trails of you leaving were quickly blown away into snowdrifts, my dreams, my starving desire. That kiss was not to be our last; I will never stop believing you will wander home before the hearth grows empty, enter my bed with your inner battle won. In sleep I see your eyes ice blue, your lashes heavy, pelleted by the storm within; I am inside you and see that each footstep you take is cautious, though your toes are black, your face raw from the brutal winds, each print brings you closer to me. I am your guiding light, your angel whipping sunlight toward you, claiming you to this cracking heart. When I wake, brittle, hungry, tasting you still, I wrap all I can find to warm me and make one last fire. I search for sustenance, anything to keep me steadfast, ready to see you stumbling through the opening of the forest, in whatever pieces you are in, I will heal you, over and over again. I find the vodka you left for your return. I hesitate to open it as it could further your journey. I am ravenous and lie down by the fire, falling back into my polar dreams where our hearts are pressed together pumping life into each other. Your chest is bare, my love.

Proselove poemsheartbreakFree Verse
19

About the Creator

ROCK

Writing truth or fiction, feels as if I am stroking across a canvas, painting colourful words straight from my heart. I write from my old farmhouse in Sweden. *BLOGLINK

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Kenny Penn3 months ago

    Wow ROCK this is really good! Sad and beautiful in a way that tugs at the heart. There’s power in it too, I really love the sense that the one who is waiting has the power to heal the lovers wounds through sheer force of will and love.

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    I'm so not convinced that heart is locked forever! Beautifully written.

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    So packed with emotion. Bur fie! Is it you I see walking, staggering towards me in yon forest. You are alive, my heart sings, i run to meet you, the vodka cooling as I draw nearer. Hoping you don't drop dead before we reach the warmth of the house. So cool.

  • J3 months ago

    Hauntingly heartwarming in the saddest bittersweet-est way. Labour of love indeed <3

  • Miss Catherine3 months ago

    Awww...this was so sweet, and had me thinking about the special people in our lives.

  • This was sooooo emotional! I freaking loved it!

  • Heather Zieffle 3 months ago

    Lovely!

  • And should my steps fail before reaching thine, know that our hearts shall still forever entwine & be warmed. Beautiful, evocative.

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler3 months ago

    Ah, relationships! We always yearn for them, and this is a beautiful example of how they play out sometimes. Lovely, ROCK!

  • Jazzy 3 months ago

    OH MY I felt this in my soul

  • Mother Combs3 months ago

    💙

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Oh my. This is so beautiful, yet so mournful. Well done.

  • In sleep I see your eyes ice blue, your lashes heavy, pelleted by the storm within.....WOW, this Great entry

  • Joe Patterson3 months ago

    This is a great entry.

  • Anna 3 months ago

    Beautiful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.