Poets logo

Walls

Brick by Brick

By Alyssa ForgePublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

They say everyone has them

But who am I to judge

These walls of mine are strong

And they aren’t gonna budge

My walls aren’t here to hinder

Life’s daily simple pleasure

Instead they lock away my heart

My one and only treasure

They weren’t always like this

Stubborn and defiant

They started out as a few small bricks

Not this impeccable giant

With each and every heartbreak

A couple bricks were laid

But it wasn’t until I cried for you

That these massive walls were made

Now that we’ve gone our separate ways

In my mind I pushed you back

But each day when I think of you

The bricks begin to stack

My heart wants to be free with you

But it doesn’t understand

It’s walls aren’t involuntary

I’m laying them by hand

My heart doesn’t know

Your smile turns it to dust

Or that your eyes draw me in close

And beg my own to lust

No matter how much I miss you

Or how much you still care

I cannot let you play such games

It isn’t very fair

So I build and build

Til I can’t anymore

I won’t let you torture me

It’s such an ugly war

One day my heart will give up

It will not search for you

But until that day comes

My walls will not undo

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Alyssa Forge

Stay at home wife and mother. Been through a lot and I can’t wait to get everything that I have written in journals on here. Hope you enjoy and maybe benefit from it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.