Poets logo

Wallowing

Painful words said

By Laura LannPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
2
Wallowing
Photo by Tom Barrett on Unsplash

Oh the words I think to swallow,

Bind them up here to wallow.

Yet venom comes from those around,

Burning into flesh with soft sound.

Oh I writhe, and hasten to run

But darkness waits instead the sun.

I fall to bottom wells of pouring wet,

Seep and sob steeped in regret,

Till waves of wash carry me down

To melt, pretend in placid crown

Of smiles and warmth, things I lack

I’m a rotted peel, I’m putrid black.

Suffocate beneath the weight

Before I find the exit gate,

And crawl out into the snow

Where moonlight casts a glow

Onto my frozen tears of snot

Till white cold is all I have got

And my skin turns blue.

What a painful hue.

Perhaps I will be tugged indoor

Warmth and blankets once more,

Where tea and patience wait.

Or perhaps that plea is late.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Laura Lann

I am an author from deep East Texas with a passion for horror and fantasy, often heavily mixed together. In my spare time, when I am not writing, I draw and paint landscape and fantasy pieces. I now reside in Alaska where adventures await.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This was so poignant and emotional. I loved it!

  • Manisha Dhalani6 months ago

    Laura, what a description: "I’m a rotted peel, I’m putrid black." Amazing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.