Poets logo

Walking Without You

Inspired by the devoted husband of a woman that was cared for by my wife(PSW). He would come everyday-rain, sun or snow. To be by his wife's side.

By Gerald HolmesPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
26

Walking Without You

Days are longer now

My walks are farther away

From where as lovers

Together, we would stay

*****

Home; it's darker now

Pain wants to steal the light

So hard, to be here

Without you; in the night

*****

I walk alone now

Without you by my side

Missing your soft touch

My love, My life, My bride

*****

Without you, time slows

With you, time moved too fast

They gave you six months

Each day could be our last

*****

You're gone; three months now

Half of me left that day

You said “I love you”

The last words, you would say

*****

Light comes early now

I walk in morning dew

With love in my heart

Trying to live; Without you

heartbreak
26

About the Creator

Gerald Holmes

Born on the east coast of Canada. Travelled the world for my job and discovered that kindness is the most attractive feature in any human.

R.I.P. Tom Brad. Please click here to be moved by his stories.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)5 months ago

    This was so moving and heartbreaking all in one breath Gerald! Beautifully expressed! Great work!

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    This broke my heart What love there was 💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.