Poets logo

Wake Up Brave

A Rehab Poem

By Sophie ColettePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Wake Up Brave
Photo by Artem Kniaz on Unsplash

I want to wake up brave,

Persephone taking stock of a new world,

the ballerina rising with willow muscle out of death,

steel-eyed and whole.

I still don't know if that's possible in this place,

any place-

but every day,

I do wake up,

armorless and alert.

I want to wake up brave,

even on the days I wake up crying.

Look- I am still here,

song of myself,

me coming home to myself on a Tuesday evening

in October,

ordinary and shining with the light of survival.

This is the future I see,

in a place where before

there was no future.

When you want a love song,

some chilly night this rearing winter,

look elsewhere.

This is not for you, and I am not sorry.

This is my no. This is my if. This is my love for my own skin,

my own good skin that houses me,

my own good life that brings me home,

finally,

ever,

when,

like a spell from a great witch.

Let me wake up brave.

I will open my eyes in color and be able

to pray again.

I will love the deep dark glittering mines of me,

the coyote parts, or die trying.

I am like the wild road home:

it knows death, but still sings;

it sings its prayers and its love songs

to that great witch in her own land,

who has at last

arrived at herself.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Sophie Colette

She/her. Queer witchy tanguera writing about the loves of my life, old and new. Obsessed with functional analytic psychotherapy & art in service to revolution. Occasionally writing under the name Joanna Byrne.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.