Poets logo

Waiting on a Grain

Ekphrastic Challenge March 2024

By Rae Fairchild (MRB)Published 10 days ago 1 min read
3
Waiting on a Grain
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

This poem was written in response to the Rattle® Poetry Ekphrastic Challenge for March 2024 and was ultimately not selected. You can find more information here.

https://www.rattle.com/ekphrastic/

The image that this poem was specifically written about can be found here. (March 2024 – John Paul Caponigro's “Alignment II”)

https://i0.wp.com/www.rattle.com/ekphrasis/EC24Mar.jpg?ssl=1

Waiting on a Grain

Goodbye I bid to you my love

Farewell I say to thee

For God has taken back to him

What has meant so much to me

And I will cry as many tears

That could fill the oceans whole

But never can I empty out the pain

That now wells up inside my soul

And long will I search for that place

Where the horizon meets the sky

If I could only touch them both

I could hold your hand in mine

And I will listen for the wind

That carries your voice to me

On its breeze, your gentle touch

A kiss, on lips, from thee

And I will sit by your grave

With its marble slab of stone

In the emptiness of that place

I shall carry on alone

And I will count the grains of sand

Falling through my hourglass

Waiting on that final day when we

Be together, in the by and by, at last

Submitted under MRB

sad poetrylove poemsEkphrastic
3

About the Creator

Rae Fairchild (MRB)

I love to write; putting pen to paper fills my heart and calms my soul!

Rae Fairchild is my pen name. (Because why not? Pseudonyms are cool!)

I do publish elsewhere under my real name, Mary Rae Butler. (Fairchild, an old family surname.)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 days ago

    This was so poignant and emotional. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.