Poets logo

Waiting For the Next Storm

Ekphrastic Challenge November 2022 #1

By Rae Fairchild (MRB)Published about a year ago 1 min read
1
Waiting For the Next Storm
Photo by Hennie Stander on Unsplash

This poem was written in response to the Rattle® Poetry Ekphrastic Challenge for November 2022 and was ultimately not selected. You can find more information here.

https://www.rattle.com/ekphrastic/

The image that this poem was specifically written about can be found here. (November 2022 – Joshua Eric Williams’ “Humid”)

https://i0.wp.com/www.rattle.com/ekphrasis/EC22Nov.jpg?ssl=1

Waiting For the Next Storm

I watch the storm

As it advances across the plain

My leaves quiver in anticipation

For the excitement of you

The impending gale that awaits me

Oh, how thrilling it is

To be tempest-kissed and wind-caressed

Twisted and turned

Bent backwards and forwards

Rocked in motion down to my roots

With thunder and lightening

I roll towards ecstasy

My bark lays bare to your rain

As your wind fills all my space

And your water soaks in

Power coursing through my limbs

I bow to your will

But as quickly as you came

You depart

Leaving me

Waiting for the next storm

Submitted under MRB

nature poetrylove poemsart
1

About the Creator

Rae Fairchild (MRB)

I love to write; putting pen to paper fills my heart and calms my soul!

Rae Fairchild is my pen name. (Because why not? Pseudonyms are cool!)

I do publish elsewhere under my real name, Mary Rae Butler. (Fairchild, an old family surname.)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.