Poets logo

Waiting

The Moments I Notice

By Kaylee HenricksonPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I was curled up in bed, staring into the blackness of my closed eyelids. Holding tight to my stuffed friend that reminded me of home, even though it made my hands and arms warm I still held her close. My body was only partially covered due to the heat accompanied by my blankets and the heat still hanging around outside despite the sun going down hours ago. The soft pounding in my head from too much caffeine was hard to ignore, especially when caffeinated drinks didn’t often find their way to my system. I tried to focus on the quiet whooshing from the tires of cars passing by my apartment, but could only hear the hum of the dripping AC in my hallway. Deep inside sounding as if it were panting from its tired attempts to keep running as it should be, making the soft pounding in my head feel like someone was lightly hitting a drum in the back of my ears. I was hoping my early morning would’ve let my body rest by now, but it stays awake listening to the sounds bounce around my walls like a tunnel. Waiting until it would be silenced and all noise forgotten, waiting until I would fall asleep.

excerpts
Like

About the Creator

Kaylee Henrickson

I’m obsessed with everything film related. The writing, video, music, actors... every little piece you need to create a masterpiece! I love. I hope to create my own someday.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.