Poets logo

Wait

Poem

By Muhammad SherazPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Wait
Photo by Aleksandra Sapozhnikova on Unsplash

I asked her for yet another time
should i mourn or take out the wine?
Even a word if not a line
was it so unjust, this demand of mine?

What if her answer is a NO?
And i have to let her go?
My love she will never know
And her memories i must forego

Empty glasses stare at me, longing to be filled
the barren land of my heart awaits to be tilled.
Wait is something i must do, till then my fate is sealed
Just a nod, a smile, a gaze, will render all healed.

What if her answer is a NO?
And i have to let her go?
My love she will never know
And her memories i must forego

As this terror grips me slowly, taking its toll
Adorning my headphones i embark on a stroll.
Hoping for angels who will deliver my soul
Aimlessly i wander like ogres and trolls.

What if her answer is a NO?
And i have to let her go?
My love she will never know
And her memories i must forego

Fearing her disdain, i strutted grudgingly along
and to my great surprise was greeted by a song
Coming from the heart of a kid, who turned my frown with a toothy grin
Then it hit me like a lid, loose i cannot but only win

Enchanted by her niceness, enamored by her laugh
Her good natured tears following her homeric laugh.
Yet there was nothing i loved more, than her laughing at my gaffe
So even if i have to wait, wait i must as she's a catch.

Again i asked what if her answer is a NO?
And i have to let her go?
So what if i have to let her go, she will be happy that i know
Wait i shall, by every soul and make them laugh as i go………..
Wait i shall, by every soul and make them laugh as i go………..

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.