Poets logo

Vulnerable Display of Emotions

Inspirational Poetry

By Nicole Higginbotham-HoguePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Vulnerable Display of Emotions
Photo by Gabriel Nunes on Unsplash

I should have told you

I say

looking away

from those beautiful green eyes

disguised in confidence

though I know there is hurt

I pull you in

against my skin

dancing with you slowly

in my arms

trying to disarm you

to my surprise

you graze your chest on mine

staring me in the eye

and making me face the pain

in your shy, revealing expression

and it is a lesson to me

not to take for granted

the treasures that life gives

because I know that without you

I’d be deprived of beauty and compassion

so I latch on

to your eyes

and whisper

one more time

sorry

before saying the words

you want to hear

“I love you”

I say

my lips obey

my commands to

display my affection

and though it is difficult

to bear my emotions

my devotion

to my relationship with you

is so much more

so I let my heart drop to the floor

waiting for your response

and to see if you want

me to say it again

but you smile

your lips moving closer to mine

and we entwine for a moment

where everything fades

and in that moment

I know that everything is okay

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Nicole Higginbotham-Hogue

Nicole Higginbotham-Hogue is a lesfic author at amzn.to/36DFT2x. Sign-up for her newsletter at higginbothampublications.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.