Poets logo

Volume One

Collection of short poems

By Michael GrubePublished 5 years ago 5 min read
Like
XArcAngelGT500X (IG)

Why? (2013)

This question has plagued me

I don't know the answer quite well

Can there an answer ever be

Why on this earth we go through hell

Not the literal Hades of old

Or the fire that will burn in the lake

But the hell that goes on untold

That makes us all internally shake

When one says something in their shelter

To slander the name of another

Though he thought no one heard

It eventually caused someone to falter

The day came round when he found out

That he was also being talked about

People all over were chanting his name

So every problem on him was blamed

Eventually came the time where he had to leave

For animosity was the only thing received

He died by himself hardened and bitter

So is the result of any gossiper

An Unseen War (2010)

A war waged between heaven and hell

Amongst the host of heaven

And the demons and the devil

Michael, Gabriel, and Raphael called

Upon every angel which they commanded

Satan and his legions also gathered

A field of battle was chosen by both

And a day in history was decided upon

The two hordes of spiritual host

Fell upon each other with the violence

Of a most glorious hurricane

To the untrained eye nothing could be seen

For the multitude of both heaven and hell

Moved with a speed never seen by any man

The demons rallied with such anger, malice;

They began to overcome the purity of the angelic host

As the angel were driven back again to the gates of heaven

An unforeseen ally of the shining host came forth

A power came from the prayers of man

Charging the host with new found glory and power

As quickly as the battle began it was over

Satan and his legion were condemned back to hell

And heaven was at peace once more

Faith Lost (2010)

Whether god, man, or nature be your view

And if it be that this will save you

Does this matter in your day to day life

Or help you manage you everyday strife

My challenge is where peace in faith lies

If it be in the god then why is faith relies

If god be all powerful would not peace be free

Free to attain free to maintain and free to me

I have faith in man no more never did

The faith once had was lost so rapid

Men stand at arms against fellow men

To burn and cheat and steal and then

Trample under foot whomever they please

Rather than stand stuck humbly on their knees

In nature also i have not much trust

For weather itself can destroy with a gust

So of the three which do i trust

The one that created the other i must

Happier Times (2013)

Happier times come flooding back to me

When I sit and reminisce

Of how things were when we were young

Of how innocent the world looked

How foolish we were to play by Hell's gates

Seemingly blinded by the torment

Felt by all those that stood avast

Haunted by the unparalleled anguish

Of what they could see and we could not

Oh now I wish that I could change

The places I called my childhood playground

But it is too late for regrets or sorrows

For happier times were once the future

And I shall have greater times once again

Dreams of a Yesterday (2013)

There are times I think back

On mistakes I have made

Thinking of things got out of whack

Crawling through brimstone and shade

Wondering if changes were made

If things would be so different

Happy with how things are laid

Trying not to be so indifferent

Somethings would change others remain

For fear of losing my mind

And utterly going insane

Fate can be so unkind

Days are good nights serene

Could not ask for anything more

On things that changed would seem

Useless to try and change anymore

Thank You (2006)

Sometimes I wish life would just end

Oft' I feel all alone without a friend

It is hard to explain unless you have been there

Sometimes all you can do is sit still and stare

Life seems to swim all around inside your head

And makes you sick and wish you were dead

But in the grime and sludge of life I see

A small beautiful hand reaching out to me

Is it yours I am too blind to see i think

But I know if grab this hand I do not ill sink

Our hands clasp together like two magnets fast

The face I longed to see I saw at last

It is you like the eyes of an angel you look at me

Broken and torn inside and longing to be

Once again to be within the realm of those arms

Mesmerized once again by all your charms

The grime and sludge was a little fun

But they cannot compare to the warmth of the sun

Thank you for keeping me from drowning

Thank you for keeping me from wanting

The reason i love you with all my heart

The reason that nothing can tear us apart

Is the fact that you keep me within your heart

From within that keep ill never depart

For with your love I can do anything

And for your love I will overcome everything

Anniversary (2013)

One year completed

One year passed

One year exhausted

One year remembered

Days were sweet

Days were bitter

Days were warm

Days were cold

Hours were long

Hours were short

Hours were hard

Hours were leisurely

Minutes were hours

Minutes were seconds

Minutes have begun

Minutes have ended

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Michael Grube

I am 36 years old, an Army veteran, and officially divorced. I have been writing since i was young and have always been told that I have a knack for it. I've tried my writing a few novels, but my heart lies within poetry and journalism.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.