Poets logo

void of fear trust and peaceful howls

A RubyRed Original Poem

By Ruby RedPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
2
void of fear trust and peaceful howls
Photo by Marek Szturc on Unsplash

i dare to stand near the edge

peeking over, as you continue to taunt me

if only you knew the absence of my fears

how they've found gullible,

weak little sheep

leaving me to lead them to you.

...

gladly, is all i'll say,

as i follow your predictable cowardly scent

and they growl their thanks,

glad for a varied meal.

...

and your behaviour has shifted,

your eyes more clouded

your blood slowly charring...

what happened?

too foolish to look past their sly bleats?

what i can so clearly see...

the wool is becoming permanent,

your submission louder than your honest smiles

and even honesty is enough to know that

you're too far gone to be welcomed within my howls.

no, do not try to growl or plea.

turn those blind eyes away from my scars

because you know all too well

that my snarls grow vicious

with each passing moon,

and nothing will bring you back

nothing can point your ears

and shed the wooly blanket of whispers you've accepted

you've shown me

that you will forever be the innocent little lamb

hiding from the wolves scarred with the truth you'll never face.

denial is your end.

-

Fin.

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Ruby Red

Hello friends!

I am a quirky teenager, lover of books, music and theatre. I am happy.

An ally 🏳️‍🌈

Believe only half of what you see and nothing that you hear - Edgar Allen Poe

Consider this a doorway to my mind and soul.

I hope you enjoy ❤️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    Omggg, tell me about it! This is soooo true!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.