Poets logo

rule of thumb 👍

A RubyRed Original Poem

By Ruby RedPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
2
rule of thumb 👍
Photo by Patrick Hendry on Unsplash

i'm back.

a general rule,

do not cross me.

one chance, one life,

that's it.

NO. Exceptions.

There is a deadline for admission.

for an apology, face to face

no bland, empty text messages.

grow up and face the truth of what you did,

and i'll consider a second chance.

but no,

they're too proud to mingle with the ones like me

to kneel before their truth and admit defeat

they'd rather die from hatred than find peace

because war is what they see fit for the ones like me

they hold no courage

or compassion or empathy

cannot comfort the one who asks them to change

because their soul is blackened

charred in an irreversible swarm of embers

and that is why,

you're dead to me.

-

Fin.

slam poetry
2

About the Creator

Ruby Red

Hello friends!

I am a quirky teenager, lover of books, music and theatre. I am happy.

An ally 🏳️‍🌈

Believe only half of what you see and nothing that you hear - Edgar Allen Poe

Consider this a doorway to my mind and soul.

I hope you enjoy ❤️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    Seriously there are so many people like that. We don't need them in our life. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.