Poets logo

Voices

In the moonlight

By Moi LiPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Voices
Photo by Alex Iby on Unsplash

These voices sweet talking me

When you make your exit

The thoughts in my mind jog

From: The heck! This just happened

To: I be damned, he's precious

Damn! he's a charmer

Double damn! he has me unarmored

He's a darling, I can tell he cares. Hell yes! He cares

The devil. He can't show it, he has his own affairs

Got to draw this line here, before I free fall, I've known

That was a delightful evening. That's that. Unknown.

Not mine to have. And that's all right

We've got this. Don't cling on. Not latching on tonight

This time I'm certain, while I text a lush goodnight

Precarious words hang by a breath, on my mind

Wondering why you aren't already mine

I stare at the screen, where the words pour out

I hold back from hitting send and hit Save instead

By Alka Rautela on Unsplash

The moon waxes and vanes

I go from questioning, to accepting my fate

Maybe a super moon will chance

Maybe that will chase away the trance

The journey of unknowing you begins

Till you're stranger again. It's nay to even say Hey!

Major withdrawals kick in

Refraining with every cell within

I'm holding myself together, to not say Hey! and give in

These voices in my head, they're losing calm. They're frantic, wanting in

I let the words out where no one knows

It's like you hear these voices even so

You pop in to say Hello. You have me at Hey!

Once again, that's all it ever takes

The flood gates are open

I'm yours again. You're in my arms again

For this little while, It'll be the grandest little while

Because you sink into me, My mind , my body filling in

By Eugene Chystiakov on Unsplash

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Moi Li

Moi is a passionate writer and a budding poet, she discovered writing through journaling. Her works have evolved into some fine poetry, giving voice to some impertenent social causes, that have found its way into the hearts of the readers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.