Poets logo

Vocally Appreciative

For All Vocal Creators

By Judey Kalchik Published 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - October 2023
47
Vocally Appreciative
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

Do you read then press the heart?

Or do you press before you start?

You heart because you know the name?

Or heart unknown writers just the same?

-

Do your stats you daily check?

If not what’s expected do you feel a wreck?

Do you jump at every notification?

Or see their appearance as obfuscation?

-

Do you write when the going gets tough?

Or prefer easy and happy over the rough?

Do you try to write each day?

Or only when whimsy winks your way?

-

Do you need the Challenges to lead you to think?

Or, like a horse to water only you decide to drink?

Do you call and plead and woo your muse?

Or do words abound for you to choose?

-

Do you lean toward poems, or inspirational story?

Or delight in the unexpected, twisty, gory?

Are you working through your life, reconciling your past?

Or composing a novel and creating the cast?

-

However you Vocal, we’re uniquely alike.

We’re hooked on the words and watching reads spike.

And though we are many, and a Community (true),

It wouldn’t be the same if it didn’t have you.

-

Thank you to the many writers that encourage, share, read, critique, write, exhort, commiserate, champion, provoke, counsel, inspire, worry, celebrate, confound, vacillate, thrill, and support each other on the Vocal platform.

Comments welcome: what do you like to read? What do you like the best? Did any of these descriptions feel true to you?

love poems
47

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (32)

Sign in to comment
  • Justine Crowley6 months ago

    Superb poem here Judey. I am blown away at how creative it is. You are really writing from the heart. Awe inspiring, and congratulations on Top Story. Well deserved. Justine. PS: Off topic (or maybe not) I just want to thank you profusely for reporting that spammer on my article in the Trader Community. I really, really appreciate it. <3 <3 <3

  • Andrea Corwin 6 months ago

    You covered it ALL in a great poem; touching all the bases. Thanks for sharing this.

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Wasn’t expecting to get the warm and tinglies at the end! Naw, I feel similarly. Yes lots of this rings true and is a good commentary on everyone’s different interests! Also, I almost always read before liking! 😁 Excellent piece Judey and I see it is now a top story - congrats!

  • Right now I'm just trying to get caught up with my notifications, read, comment, reply & do a little writing. This was beautiful & expansively inclusive of so many of our writing styles & interactions on Vocal. Thank you for sharing it & congrats on Top Story.

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    Back to say, congrats on Top Story. Had an incline this might get it!

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    I am everything you just said and more. Only, I don't worry much about the stats anymore. I used to, but I concentrate on writing in every single challenge and try to find individual challenges, and yes, we are all addicted to this Vocal thing. Ah Judey, whatever shall we do!!!!!! This is the toppest story ever.

  • Atomic Historian6 months ago

    Also, I like finding new authors. I will often spend a lot of time combining someone’s catalog when I find a new author

  • Atomic Historian6 months ago

    I apologize to anyone with weird stats, because the heart is the only way to save a story. But sometimes I forget to go back and read it.

  • Thavien Yliaster6 months ago

    I will admit, much like an Instagram reel or a YouTube short I tend to heart before reading or during reading. It's starting to become more common but the majority of the time I heart after I read. There's a lot of times that I wouldn't heart if I wasn't fond of the story, but I would always try to leave a comment on everything that I read. I find that proving to the author that I digested one's work is better than a heart with a simple comment. I want to display to the author that their work did have me invested. I do tend to check my stats more often than not, but that's mainly because I wonder what works and what doesn't for my audience as I try to cater content that I craft to them. Obfuscation? I haven't heard of that word before. "The action of making something obscure, unclear, or unintelligible." Nice another word to add to my vocabulary. I can't wait to use it. Though, I have quite a few other pieces to work on. So, I'll have to wait to use it. I write when I'm inspired, I write when I'm tired, I write to perspire and when I've perspired, I write when I'm wired, I'll write even though being a writer is not my occupation or role of responsibilities with which I've been hired. I write what I choose. I'll let a prompt inspire the muse. I like to think that I could write anything. Yet, I know that there are things that I cannot write, as I am not every being. Yeah, I should go back to creating my novel and wrap up whatever business I have with Vocal and just return on a regular scheduled basis for certain stories I'd like to post on Vocal. Thank You, Judey. The community wouldn't be the same without You too.

  • J. S. Wade6 months ago

    I read, then heart. Awesome poem Judey! 🥰

  • Sarah D6 months ago

    I try to sometimes write morning pages, a bit of journaling almost daily

  • Brin J.6 months ago

    I love to read a little bit of everything, but especially poetry. <3 And I'm guilty of the daily status checks🤣 Great poem!

  • I heart it all, and then comment...

  • Veronica Coldiron6 months ago

    Loved this! I never heart before I read, but having said that, I've rarely read anything on Vocal that didn't wind up worthy of the heart. 😉 Congrats on your Top Story! 😊

  • Gerald Holmes6 months ago

    Loved this, Judey. I always read first, then heart. I seldom check my stats, I don't no why. Maybe I think they have no bearing on why I write. Congrats on the Top Story.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Congrats on the TS

  • Melissa Ingoldsby6 months ago

    Great piece very relatable top story

  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    A lovely homage to the writers and a deserving Top Story. I often leave a comment and forget to leave the heart, then go back and do it later. On a normal day, I check notifications first thing, open the full list and read them all, then decide whether to write something, finish something, or go to work, which is of course, writing. There are a few occasions when I leave a story open on a tab so I can come back to comment.

  • Donna Renee6 months ago

    I go in phases! ❤️🤷🏼‍♀️

  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    Judey, I am awestruck at how relatable and true this rang for me! I love to read fiction, I've been able to read all kinds that I didn't even know were a thing until Vocal. My favourite seems to be fantasy with no specific other genre. The stanza about challenges and horses deciding to drink, was my favourite and rang most true for me! I love challenges as a way to write side pieces to give me a break from my biggest projects. But I also won't enter every challenge as not all inspire me!

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    There are so many writers I know I will love what they have produced. I don't mean that in a throwaway sense...so often I like first. If it's someone new...I'll read and then like. Unless I forget, I really try to like and comment on most things, especially those that I enjoyed, connected with or just was so in love with that it made me sick to my stomach that I can't write that well, hahaa! Cos of time constraints, I tend to read the quick reads, poems and shorter pieces. Trying to change that, as my fiction pieces can be quite long at times, so give what I hope/expect. Poems, oddly, given my view of poetry, are still a real joy. Love writing poetry because there are no rules, really. Fiction was always my goal and finding my cogs turning more towards that. Really love writing horror, because it's so hard to scare me...if it scares me hopefully it will scare others lol. Still love writing my ramblings and inspirational stuff in poetry...that people listen to it and resonate with it still baffles and humbles me. I usually try to write everyday...doesn't always work. annnnd I've signed up for NaNoWriMo...well was already signed up but going to try it this year! Anyway, love this poem, Judey...as ever you have your finger on the pulse and write in a way that many really connect with! I liked this before I read it, fyi lol! And so many of your wonderful lines were so true. Stats checker here, sadly and proudly lol! Anyway, Mumbles Out!

  • The Dani Writer6 months ago

    My stars, that's a beauty of a poem Judey! I think I do a blended mix of things and then that mix changes. A consistent bit is possibly always clicking the heart last. I give thought to what it means, how I feel about what I read, the concepts, effectiveness, favourite lines, writer blood/sweat/tears/brain matter etc. Every heart I give is a genuine testament and I want authors to feel that I don't come cheap, they earned that. Oooh Judey, look at your heart 😁

  • Thank you for these lovely words, if I click the heart before I start, it often tells me I'm already logged in , so always read, heart and leave insights.

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    Click the heart before I start? Absurd!

  • I click the heart before I start and I do that for names known and unknown. I don't check my stats daily or jump at notifications. I only write when I have something to write about. Nah, I'm at Mr Brain's mercy. I delight in the unexpected, twisty and gory, lol. I like to read just about anything but my favorite would be horror!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.