Poets logo

Vocal, I'll Take My Hat Off For Ya!

If You Ever Let Me Win A Challenge!

By Carol TownendPublished 25 days ago 1 min read
5
Vocal, I'll Take My Hat Off For Ya!
Photo by Omar Lopez on Unsplash

That's perfect I swear,

"I've done myself proud," I dare say,

Just another day;

Just one more challenge,

Another day, writing away,

Oh! There goes another one, way hey!

I failed last time,

Do I enter again?

A brave soul will sweat it,

Until she wins her dream.

So counting my grey hairs,

With determination and pears,

The fruitful thoughts are written in ink,

I work hard, but you still think my words stink!

I will not plead,

And I will not die,

But;

Dear Vocal,

Whilst swallowing my pride is a must,

And A favorite trait of mine is drabbling,

I'll take my hat off for ya,

Just this once,

If you ever let me win a challenge,

It's a must!

This is a humorous poem inspired by my never-ending desire to enter challenges, even though I never seem to win.

It's not to be taken seriously; it is just a little fun, that pushes me to keep writing.

Challenges can be difficult to win, though they are fun to enter, and they are a great way to test your writing skills.

Remember challenges are there for fun, to challenge yourself to write better, and to encourage you to step out of your comfort zone.

Hint: I use challenges to inspire my writing, and to help me find new things to write about.

We all want to win sometimes but remember that the most rewarding experience of this platform is that we can have fun as we write, meet other writers, and enjoy the experience, even when we don't win.

I hope you will enter the many brilliant challenges on Vocal, and remember,

The fun isn't in the win, the fun is in trying to win!

Good luck!

social commentaryinspirationalhumor
5

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran25 days ago

    I too use challenges as writing prompts. Keeping my fingers crossed for you to win one day!

  • Kendall Defoe 25 days ago

    I know the feeling...and wrote about it, too.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.