Poets logo

Vivarium

You give me butterflies...

By Megan Stockhill Published 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Vivarium
Photo by Ian Parker on Unsplash

You fill my stomach with butterflies

Like I'm your own personal vivarium

Just a glass building

With two arms and two legs

I'm hollow and full of wings

Fluttering and flapping against my inner walls

My eyes now belong to you

So let me drown you in their Morpho blue

You shatter me open

To take my heart

Like a giant beating Monarch

Flowers bloom within me when I'm with you

Tangling and curving

Giving their nectar like succulent liquid gifts

From their open arms and lips

And I want you all around me

Like a cocoon

To give me wings like the ones you fill me with

Make me your vivarium

Full of butterflies

So there'll always be a coloured world

Inside me

Just for you

Make my skin glass

So you can see past it to my core

Of petals and wings

And turn me into a butterfly

Like the ones that are inside

My stomach because of you.

nature poetrysurreal poetrylove poems
2

About the Creator

Megan Stockhill

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Brenton F2 years ago

    I, too had to google the meaning of Vivarium. So much life, love and hope in your words, soft and striking!

  • Viva Marie2 years ago

    I love this poem... I'd never heard of the word "vivarium" before and had to Google it. It intrigued me, because my name is Viva. It was a beautiful new word to learn, because after looking at some pictures online, I discovered vivariums to be captivating and even more intriguing than the word itself.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.