Poets logo

Violet Times

Being asexual has often made me feel invisible and isolated. This poem is about coming out, having my existence invalidated, fearing rejection from my religion, and, ultimately, self-acceptance in the face of that violence.

By Remi AkersPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
4
Asexual flag.

Purple is a door

A start

A shelter

A seat at the table

Full of hearts that made this home

And hands that guided me

Through willow trees;

Like a homing beacon or a blaring foghorn,

Highlighting the path to a healthy mind

And the importance being honest

About hazards we find

In houses we mourn.

Purple is a plate of armor

A sword

A shield

A security blanket

That holds power and protection,

As it does not disguise

But signifies

A meaning that’s permanent in its pertinence

Yet only embodied by the subject,

Assuring me that I have the right to

Protest when you object

To my existence.

Purple is a cloak

A sanctum

A secret

A set of shutters I close

To hide from disapproving glares

Without losing my grace.

Gloating faces,

Glowering from high towers engraving praxis,

Grip their faith too tight to doubt mores that

Glorify those who dismiss their guilt with

Vain gestures while they’re at

Gatekeeping practice.

Purple is a megaphone

A shout

A storm

A sound that resounds

When I refuse to disappear.

I’ll drown out your damning

While you’re trying

To dismember me to reshape a memory.

I yell “I am enough” and rip my lungs

In pieces because I am not yours to

Redeem like a wish from

A dream factory.

inspirational
4

About the Creator

Remi Akers

Remi is a poet and Young Adult fantasy/contemporary writer. They are a nonbinary demi-androromantic asexual who has chronic pain and fatigue. They like to write all things dark, queer, and cozy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.