Poets logo

Vinyl Colon

Most Favourite and Least Favourite Words Poetry Challenge

By Kendall Defoe Published 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
9
Vinyl Colon
Photo by Eric Krull on Unsplash

Note: I wrote this for you, Mr. Stewart. Hope you like it...

*

Used record stores provide the answers

(after considerable searches);

all eye-contacting nervous staff.

*

I see the murmur of kudzu; a stone rest

(and Athens without the histories);

all several centuries before me.

*

Really. Exciting. Music.

(vinyl of their first full play after first gigs)

I have my smile at the counter.

*

Biology scorns my questions.

(a rush to buy; to find facilities)

The quick run to the calm cool seat.

*

Colons provide their own questions

(not so quiet on porcelain; pauses and touches)

Roughage to the rescue.

*

My favours from language? The language I hate?

(all moves from one to other places)

Both provide a hole in one.

A place to think...

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

social commentaryhumorfact or fiction
9

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    😂😂😂

  • A very di-"stink"-tive picture to close & quite the journey from record store to hole through the floor.

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    This was all kinds of fun. Thank you for entering with an ode to vinyl and record stores and an ode to the toilet...lol. Sorta. This made me smile and chuckle. Well done, Kendall.

  • Hahahahahahahahahhahaha omgggg I laughed so much for this! And the fact that kudzu seems so similar to kusu didn't help. In Tamil, kusu means fart 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    Glad you made it to get your hole in one; Loved the picture and your unique poem

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    That seat don't seem calm to me!

  • Lana V Lynx4 months ago

    Clever, I liked it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.