Poets logo

Villanelle of a broken heart…

My first villanelle

By Kenneth cruzPublished about a month ago 1 min read
1

The love I felt for you left me broken

Drained from the inside out

Like a crustacean’s shell cracked open

Just when I thought love had woken

I ignored fear and doubt

For I knew our love was chosen

If only it became what was originally spoken

What we vowed when love was found

Or maybe if I’d looked deeper I’d see an ill omen

But for me it was too late my heart was already stolen

After loves drought time with you left me wowed

While your absence left me frozen

It was your essence not idea or notion

That trapped me like a fisherman’s trout

Id never guess you’d toss me back to the ocean

Left wishing for some magic potion

That would keep love throughout and erase my pouts

Instead i was left my heart cut open

And nothing or no one could make me unbroken

Mental HealthVillanellesad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Allwyn Roman Waghelaabout a month ago

    Yes heartbreak is something hard to get over

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.