Poets logo

Victim

11/16/2020-11/23/2020 Chronic invisible illness so many tests; trying to hid depression, anxiety, and pain

By Melissa OrosPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Over to the dark side

Looking down at this viscera, my heart slowly staining the floor, she wonders why she bothered with a red rug. When can I be the savior instead of the carrion spewing lies like "oh, I'm fine." as it's my skull cracking the pretty, wooden, peace. Protectors at the door; she steps outside, maybe to hide the carnage behind. Sir, can't you see? I'm not me, something is wrong, I'm not strong, I lose me when the bell rings. A smile hides the black static closing her eyes, a wave goodbye helps you turn a blind eye to the garnet 'click, clack, clinking...' dripping as the gaping hole beneath my sweater begins to fall victim to gravity. Body buzzing with the fear and adrenaline as she sees she has bled out, time and time again, to no avail. Answers still fleet, like questioning the existence of a deity. No time for that anxiety with my ugly past of secrets, and a clash of current attack, pent on the horizon. Haunted? Maybe she is. By the words as they purge. Tears singing their mournful song, breath short with sobs of aching unclarity.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Melissa Oros

Macbre poetry. In 2013 I had an emotional breakdown. I notice now most of the inspiration comes from the darker place since then (before 2013), versus my older poetry being light, funny, passionate in love, etc.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.